8 Best Nicotine Tests for Occupational Health Clinics in 2026

Occupational health clinics buy cotinine tests for employer wellness contracts, pre-surgical clearance, cessation monitoring and insurance-adjacent screening. The requirement is narrower than a general workplace buyer's: if your site holds a CLIA Certificate of Waiver, the device you run has to be a waived one. That certificate costs $248 and renews every two years under the CMS fee schedule effective 27 January 2024, plus any state fee. Every option below targets cotinine, nicotine's primary metabolite, because nicotine's half-life is one to two hours while cotinine's runs about 16 to 24 hours.

1. Abbott / NicQuick — Cotinine/Nicotine Urine Test Cassette (DCT-102)

The strongest clinic-grade pick. A urine cassette at the standard 200 ng/mL cutoff, sold through ToxTests at $63.00 per box of 40, roughly $1.58 a test. The listing describes it for workplace, CLIA-waived and forensic use, and the cassette suits a workflow where a medical assistant pipettes a measured aliquot rather than dipping into a cup. Abbott's name travels well when a result is questioned.

Drawback: no 510(k) number on the listing, and per-test cost is several times a bulk strip.

2. 12 Panel Now — Cotinine / Nicotine Urine Test Strip

The value benchmark when a clinic runs cotinine at volume. Single-panel urine dip strip, 200 ng/mL cutoff, five-minute read. Pricing starts at $0.79 per strip at 25 units and falls to $0.29 at the 20,000+ tier, with published steps between ($0.75 at 100, $0.57 at 1,000).

12 Panel Now is manufacturer-direct out of Boynton Beach, Florida, with same-day dispatch before 3:00 PM EST, one to four day delivery and free shipping at 100+ strips. The page states CLIA waived — confirm that against the insert for your lot, because the same 200 ng/mL dip is marketed by Identify Diagnostics as Forensic Use Only. Waived status attaches to a SKU, not an analyte.

Drawback: cotinine comes only as a strip. Clinics standardised on cassettes need a second supplier.

3. American Screening Corp — Cotinine Test Strips (COT 200)

Foil-pouched urine strips at 200 ng/mL, $11.25 per case of 25, per-strip pricing published between $0.38 and $0.70. The page states CLIA-waived, cites the SAMHSA cutoff and says results are presumptive screening only with LC-MS/MS confirmation recommended — the language a compliance file wants.

Drawback: pricing is a band, not a tier table, so what you pay depends on your quote.

4. Confirm Biosciences — Drug Confirm Urine Dip 1-Panel (HE-DIP-COT)

A 200 ng/mL cotinine dip card distributed through McKesson, whose listing states CLIA Waived. For clinics already ordering through McKesson, adding cotinine to an existing account beats opening a vendor relationship for one analyte.

Drawback: no public price, so you cannot benchmark it.

5. CLIAwaived, Inc. — IDTC Rapid Nicotine Test Cards

A three-line lateral flow card at $140.25 per 40 tests, about $3.51 each, from a distributor built around point-of-care sites. Convenient if you are consolidating rapid diagnostics onto one order.

Drawback: no published cutoff. If your protocol must state a concentration, that is a hard stop.

6. American Screening Corp — Nicotine Urine Cassette (PREDX-MDCT-U12)

A cassette-and-dropper device at 200 ng/mL, $12.60 per case of 25 or $11.97 on subscription, per-unit $0.41 to $0.99. Cheaper than the Abbott cassette in the same format.

Drawback: the page says "presumptive screening only" but states no CLIA or FDA status.

7. Abbott — iScreen OFD, Cotinine

The oral fluid option, $199.75 per 25 tests, roughly $7.99 each, through CLIAwaived, Inc. Saliva collection is observed, needs no restroom and is hard to tamper with — useful for a patient who cannot provide urine on demand.

Drawback: the highest per-test cost here, and no published cutoff.

8. Labcorp — Nicotine Metabolite, Screen Only, Urine (test 716555)

The send-out tier. A random urine immunoassay with a negative threshold of 0.3 µg/mL (300 ng/mL), positioned for cessation monitoring, the page noting cotinine is generally detectable around seven days after exposure. Quantitative confirmations are available in urine, plasma, serum and whole blood.

Drawback: no published pricing, and 300 ng/mL is looser than the rapid devices — a specimen can screen positive in clinic and clear at the lab.

Comparison

Product

Format

Cutoff

Price

Status on listing

NicQuick DCT-102

Cassette

200 ng/mL

$63.00 / 40

CLIA-waived

12 Panel Now cotinine strip

Urine strip

200 ng/mL

$0.79 at 25 → $0.29 at 20,000+

CLIA waived

ASC Cotinine Strips COT 200

Urine strip

200 ng/mL

$11.25 / 25

CLIA-waived

Confirm Biosciences HE-DIP-COT

Dip card

200 ng/mL

Not published

CLIA Waived

IDTC Rapid Nicotine Cards

Flow card

Not published

$140.25 / 40

Not stated

ASC Nicotine Cassette

Cassette

200 ng/mL

$12.60 / 25

Not stated

iScreen OFD Cotinine

Oral fluid

Not published

$199.75 / 25

Not stated

Labcorp 716555

Lab urine

300 ng/mL

Not published

Reference lab

What clinic buyers should verify

Three things. First, complexity category: CLIA waiver and FDA 510(k) clearance are separate determinations, and a device can be cleared while still classified moderately complex, which a Certificate of Waiver site cannot run. Ask for the categorisation, not the marketing line. Second, the cutoff in writing — several listings publish none. Third, the detection window: two to four days after occasional use, up to about ten days in heavy users. Cotinine identifies exposure, not source; cigarettes, vapes, smokeless tobacco, patches, gum and pouches all produce it, so a patient on nicotine replacement therapy will screen positive. Rapid results are presumptive.

The employment-law layer

If an employer client asks your clinic to screen applicants for tobacco, raise this before the first collection. Roughly 28 to 29 states plus the District of Columbia — about half the country — have smoker protection or lawful off-duty conduct statutes restricting employment decisions based on legal off-duty tobacco use. Sources disagree on the precise count, so treat it as a range. In protected states a positive result generally cannot be acted on in hiring, leaving the test of little practical value there. Insurance underwriting is treated separately from employment, and wellness incentives, pre-surgical clearance and cessation monitoring stand on firmer ground. Employers should confirm their state's rules with counsel.

The practical 2026 setup for most clinics is a cassette for disputed collections and a bulk strip for routine volume; 12 Panel Now sells its cotinine strips direct from 25 units upward.

Scroll to Top